72 Villages Listed as Chinese Traditional Villages

Another 42 villages in Hunan Province enter the second batch of 915 Traditional Chinese Villages List. The list was released by the Ministry of Housing and Urban-Rural Development, and the Ministry of Culture and the Ministry of Finance. Villages with this title in the province now total 72, 30 of which were approved in 2012.

Winners were selected among applicants recommended by different provinces across the country. Candidate villages were evaluated by an Expert Committee for Traditional Chinese Village Protection and Development based on a specific evaluation criteria. Among Hunan's 72 traditional villages, 25 are located in the Xiangxi Tujia and Miao Autonomous Prefecture with the rest scattered in Changsha, Loudi, Yongzhou, Chenzhou, Shaoyang, Huaihua, Hengyang and Yiyang.

Translator: Guo Yan

Source: Hunan Official Web Portal